There’s a little bug in the current version of the website…

I keep seeing NullPointer errors in the server logs, and I found out the reason. When someone creates a list of files, it gets an URL starting with /l/. In the background this ID refers to an array of file IDs, but when one of those files expires the server won’t be able to deliver the list and breaks. When it does that it shows a “Whitelabel error page” to the user, that’s simply because I didn’t have time to add a real error page (fixed in the next version) :).

Now the question is: How did those files expire while they were still being used? Well, because of a little error I made: When a user views a file list page, it doesn’t actually count as a view for the files and so the server thought the files weren’t being used anymore and deleted them.

I have fixed this in the next version of pixeldrain, but I don’t know when I’ll be able to publish it. It’s a big update and I have very little time to work on it (less than two hours a day). Also, because there are so many changes to the database the website will also have to go offline for a few hours, and I need to schedule that.

Hope it doesn’t bother anyone too much, sorry for the inconvenience.

There’s a little bug in the current version of the website…

Leave a Reply

